BLACK HISTORY MONTH WOD

CROSSFIT TRENCHES – CrossFit

View Public Whiteboard

Metcon (Time)

“BLACK HISTORY WOD” (By Miss Fox)

For time:

101 DU

6 RFT of:

9 OHS 105/75

13 DL 105/75

8 C&J 105/75

26 Single Arm Alt DB Snatch 50/35

12 Box Jumps 24/20

Cash out: 381m row

The numbers represent:

101: Age of Katherine Johnson at her death

6: The age of Ruby Bridges when she integrated schools and the number of languages Maya Angelou Spoke

9: The Little Rock 9

13: The 13th Amendment abolished slavery

8: The years Barack Obama served as President

26: in 1926 Carter G Woodson created “Negro History Week” which is now known as Black History Month

12: NAACP was founded (Feb 12th)

318: The number of days the Montgomery Bus Boycott Lasted

Links to learn more:

Katherine Johnson: https://www.nasa.gov/content/katherine-johnson-biography

Ruby Bridges: https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/ruby-bridges

Maya Angelou: https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/maya-angelou

The Little Rock 9: https://www.history.com/topics/black-history/central-high-school-integration

The 13th Amendment: https://www.history.com/topics/black-history/thirteenth-amendment

Barack Obama: https://www.whitehouse.gov/about-the-white-house/presidents/barack-obama/

Black History Month: https://www.npr.org/2022/02/01/1075623826/why-is-february-black-history-month

NCAAP: https://naacp.org/about/our-history

Montgomery Bus Boycott: https://kinginstitute.stanford.edu/encyclopedia/montgomery-bus-boycott

Leave a Reply